USA Men win the World League
In the News:
Arizona Region Instructional Fall League
The Arizona Region will be offering the Fall League Instructional Program for those boys and girls in 5th - 12th grades that want to learn to play volleyball or increase their skills and are not playing for their school team in the Fall. Registration day is Monday, Sept 15th at from 6 - 8 pm at Court One Athletics - 9100 S. McKemy Street, Tempe, AZ 85284.
The Fall League will offer training and play for 6 weeks leading up to club tryouts. The sessions will run from 6 pm - 8 pm each Monday from Sept 15th to Oct 27th. The cost is $150 for the League. Fee includes 6 instructional sessions and a Fall League T-shirt.
All participants must be a 2015 registered member of the AZ Region of USA Volleyball. The cost is $25 for a Training Membership. If the participant goes on to play with a club, they must upgrade their membership to a Full Junior Membership. 2015 registration opens on September 1st. Register through the Webpoint system.
For more information contact the Arizona Region Office at 480-626-6740 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Interested in learning to coach - contact email@example.com
||Heads Up Concussion Education Is Here
With the backing of the National Football League many states have enacted a "Concussion Law" aimed at educating the schools, coaches, players and parents to what concussions really are - A BRAIN INJURY. Senate Bill 1520 was signed into law by Governor Jan Brewer. In effect what this law does is require that all student athletes and youth sports associations that use school facilities inform coaches, parents and players as to the signs and symptoms of concussion and what to do if you think you might have one.
Since the Arizona Region uses school facilities as host sites for our volleyball tournaments we now have a requirement that each parent, player and coach be educated about concussions. The Center for Disease Control (CDC) has put together Fact Sheets for Coaches, Players and Parents. We require a form from each player and their parent or legal guardian that acknowledges that they have read the form and respective Fact Sheets and understand what a concussion is. This form (which requires signatures of both the player and parent) will be turned into club who will turn it over to the Region office to be kept on file until the players are the age of majority plus 2 years - which is 20 years of age. The coaches will be educated on the signs and symptoms of concussion in their IMPACT training as well as receive a copy of the Coaches Fact Sheet for their education. Anyone participating in high school sports has already had to view the 20 minute NFHS concussion education clinic online, however, we still need the signed form for our records.
Please print off the Fact Sheets and the Acknowledgement Form below, read the Fact Sheets, sign the form and turn into your club with the other club related paperwork following tryouts.
If you have any questions about this form or procedures, please contact the Region office.
To learn more about concussions check these websites:
A Free 20 minute concussion education course can be taken at http://nfhslearn.com/electiveDetail.aspx?courseID=15000
NFL Concussion Education Information - http://search.nfl.com/search?query=concussion+education