skip navigation


By Az Volleyball Mom, 07/13/21, 10:15AM MST


The Arizona Region of USA Volleyball has several connections to the big stage!


TV schedule for indoor volleyball for the Olympics:
TV schedule for the Beach Volleyball competition:


The U.S. Beach Volleyball team of Kelly Claes/Sarah Sponcil has clinched a nomination to the Tokyo Olympic Games, July 23-Aug. 8.

Sarah Sponcil, an Arizona native, played for the Arizona Region. We are so incredibly proud of her and can't wait to cheer her on!


Wow!! The Arizona Region of USA Volleyball has some connections to the Paralympic Sitting Team. Lora Webster won a State HS volleyball championship and Whitney Dosty is from Tuscon and played at U of A.
*Nine Paralympic Gold Medalists Return for Sitting Volleyball in Tokyo
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (July 12, 2021) – USA Volleyball today announced the 12 women who will compete for the U.S. Sitting Volleyball Team at the Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020.
Nine players return from the 2016 Paralympic team that won gold in Rio de Janeiro: Tia Edwards, Heather Erickson, Katie Holloway, Kaleo Kanahele Maclay, Monique (Burkland) Matthews, Nicky Nieves, Lexi Shifflett, Lora Webster and Bethany Zummo.
Webster will be playing in her fifth Paralympic Games. Holloway and Erickson will be playing in their fourth. Maclay will be playing in her third.
Whitney Dosty, Emma Schieck and Jillian Williams will make their Paralympic debuts in Tokyo.
The U.S. Women’s Sitting Team’s head coach is Bill Hamiter, who made his Paralympic debut with team in 2008. Assistant coach Michelle Goodall will be working her second Paralympic Games and assistant coach Jon Aharoni will be making his debut in Tokyo.
The U.S. Women’s Sitting Team has medaled at every Paralympics since 2004. Prior to winning gold in Rio de Janeiro, the team took silver in London and Beijing and bronze in Athens.
The team will train and acclimate in the Japanese city of Ichinomiya on Aug. 15-20 prior to heading for Tokyo. The Paralympic Opening Ceremony will be Aug. 24 with the sitting volleyball competition running Aug. 27-Sept. 5.
The Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020, postponed until 2021, were delayed for a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
All team nominations are subject to United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee approval.
U.S. Paralympic Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team
1 Lora Webster (MB, 5-11, Point Lookout, N.Y.)
2 Bethany Zummo (L, 5-3, Dublin, Calif.)
3 Lexi Shifflett (S/L, 5-4, Waseca, Minn.)
5 Katie Holloway (OH, 6-3, Lake Stevens, Wash.)
6 Heather Erickson (OPP, 5-11, Fayetteville, N.C.)
7 Monique Matthews (MB/OH, 6-0, Ardmore, Okla.)
8 Whitney Dosty (OH/OPP, 6-3, Tucson, Ariz.)
9 Tia Edwards (OH/MB, 5-7, Skiatook, Okla.)
11 Jillian Williams (MB/OPP/OH, 5-10, Odem, Texas)
12 Emma Schieck (OH, 5-7, Statesville, N.C.)
14 Kaleo Kanahele Maclay (S, 5-6, Edmond, Okla.)
16 Nicky Nieves (MB/OH, 5-10, Kissimmee, Fla.)
4 Maddy Ball (OH, 5-7, Delray Beach, Fla.)
10 Sydney Satchell (L, 5-2, Oklahoma City, Okla.)
13 Nichole Millage (OPP, 5-7, Champaign, Ill.)
15 Annie Flood (S/OPP, 5-8, Salem, Ore.)
18 Courtney Baker (OH, 5-9, Crofton, Ky.)
Head Coach: Bill Hamiter
Assistant Coach: Michelle Goodall
Assistant Coach: Jon Aharoni
Athletic Trainer: Kat King
Technical Coordinator: Jeff Hicks
Team Manager: Mark Herrin

Hamilton Athletics recognizes Jordan Middleton